Welcome to LoudounTimes.com
Loudoun Times-Mirror

Falcons Landing Presents $18,000 in Scholarships, Social Science Fair, Taking Flight

photoFalcons Landing presents the community’s 2012 student scholarships. Back row (from left): Falcons Landing resident Ed Goloway, Chairman of the AFROC/Falcons Landing Board of Directors Peach Taylor, scholarship recipients Ramaan Insari, Taylor Krystkowiak, James Kincaid and Ahnaf Choudhury. Front row (from left): Falcons Landing President/CEO Barbara Brannon, scholarship recipients Eunkyung Kwon, Tatiana Lozano, Vanessa Braganza, Julie Hall, Erin Fischer and Amanda Wong. Photo/courtesy Falcons Landing.
Student Aid: The Air Force Retired Officer’s Community/Falcons Landing Board of Directors continued an annual tradition this month by awarding scholarships to one graduating senior from each of Loudoun County’s high schools.

The 2012 scholarship recipients include Asmar Akhtar from Stone Bridge High School, Vanessa Braganza from Woodgrove High School, Ahnaf Choudhury from Freedom High School, Erin Fischer from Loudoun Valley High School, Cori Goodwin from Heritage High School, Julie Hall from Tuscarora High School, Ramaan Insari from Broad Run High School, James Kincaid from Park View High School, Taylor Krystkowiak from Briar Woods High School, Eunkyung Kwon from Potomac Falls High School, Tatiana Lozano from Loudoun County High School and Amanda Wong from Dominion High School. Each received $1,500.

The scholarship winners and their families were the guests of honor at a reception held at Falcons Landing on June 5. Also in attendance were members of the Falcons Landing Scholarship Selection Committee; the Chairman of the Air Force Retired Officer’s Community Board, Peach Taylor; and Falcon’s Landing President and CEO, Barbara Brannon.

The 12 students were selected by the Falcons Landing scholarship committee from a pool of more than 100 highly qualified applicants. Committee members said they had a “very challenging task in selecting those most deserving of our support.”

According to the committee’s report, “The ten scholarship winners clearly distinguished themselves by achieving much more than outstanding grades. Each demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to serving others, at their schools and in their communities. They also shared impressive goals and dreams, each planning how they could make a positive difference in the lives of others and our world.”

The Falcons Landing scholarship program was established in 2009.

Social science fair winners: Eight students from eastern Loudoun received awards for their writing at the county’s annual Social Science and Global Studies fair. The honorees from Dominion High School were Ally Sarkis, for “The Russian Revolution of 1917” (first place); Remy T. Oliver, for “What Were the Effects of the Crusades on European Life?” (second place) and Mairead Crotty, for “What Was the Effect of World War II on the Development of Feminism?” (third place). The Park View High School awardees were Uyen My Dao, for “Ancient Recreation through Excavations” (first place); Daena Schwartz, for “What If Athens Was Never a Democracy?” (second place) and Sara Pendley, for “Athens and Sparta” (third place). The prize-winning students from Potomac Falls High School were Noah Black, for “The Parallels Between Christianity and Pagan Religions” (first place) and Helena Harmon, for “Ancient Egyptian Architecture and How It Pertained to Their Religious Beliefs (second place).

Final call: The Taking Flight Theatre Company presents the final performances of the broadway musical, “Next to Normal” this weekend at the Waddell Theatre on the Loudoun campus of Northern Virginia Community College. The show tells the moving story of a suburban family dealing with a mother’s mental illness. The Friday, June 15, and Saturday, June 16, performances begin at 8 p.m. General admission tickets are $18; tickets for students and seniors are $12. For information, go to tftheatre.org.


Be the first to post a comment!

The Loudoun Times-Mirror

is an interactive, digital replica
of the printed newspaper.
Click here for all e-editions.