Welcome to LoudounTimes.com
Loudoun Times-Mirror

Loudoun Chamber welcomes new chairman, bids farewell to Krause

The Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce met for their 2013 Annual Meeting and Community Leadership Awards Jan. 31 at the National Conference Center.

As part of the meeting, the Chamber said farewell to their outgoing Chairman Kurt Krause, general manager of the National Conference Center, and welcomed HCA Northern Virginia Vice President of Community and Government Relations Tracey White as their new 2013 Chairman of the Board.

In his last duty as chairman, Krause gave out three Chairman Awards to several special recipients.

Krause honored the five members of the Board of Supervisors – Chairman Scott York (R-At Large), Ralph Buona (R-Ashburn), Vice Chair Shawn Williams (R-Broad Run), Matt Letourneau (R-Dulles) and Ken Reid (R-Leesburg) – for their winning vote to bring Rail to Loudoun.

Krause also honored past-chairman Paul Bice from John Marshall Bank for his dedication to the chamber for the past year.

Also honored was Paul Gilbert as the Ambassador of the Year for his work recruiting and mentoring new members to the chamber.

In appreciation of Krause’s service, the chamber presented him with a personalized Washington Nationals Jersey and a wood rocking chair.

White has been with HCA since 2006 and she is the primary liaison for the Capital Division to community, government and civic entities with a concentration in the Virginia market.

As the 2013 chairman, White has several initiatives she is looking to implement.

“My theme, healthy business, healthy community, was a natural as a representative of a great healthcare company and, as you all know, health care continues to be a hot topic as the Affordable Care Act is implemented, the insurance market changes and expands, and businesses get more involved in the wellness of their employees as a way to control costs,” White said. “It means that businesses are economically vibrant. That our government is sound and it is providing for its citizens. And that there is a secure safety net of organizations and individuals who support those at risk.

‘I think that conveys what we hope the chamber will be like here this year,” White said.

Additionally, White will be launching a few new programs to help the chamber achieve new goals.

One of those programs is the Community Leadership Awards.

Also as part of the event, the chamber held the first Community Leadership Awards. Four finalists in each of the four categories were recognized before the winners were announced. The categories included Large Organization, Small Organization, Young Professional and Executive Leader.

The Community Leadership Awards recognize individuals and organizations that have demonstrated true leadership and commitment to support the needs of the Loudoun County community and its citizens.

Winning the large organization category was Middleburg Bank. Loudoun Insurance Group won the small organization category.

Loudoun County honored Jamie Pearson from Middleburg Bank and Brian Chavis from ARGroup won the Executive Leader award.

Each winner received a $1,000 grant from the Piedmont Community Foundation to donate to the Loudoun-based nonprofit organization of their choice.

Other programs White is implementing include a healthy business challenge in February, which will mirror last year’s highly successful Green Business Challenge.

Sometime in the spring, the chamber will launch Connect Northern Virginia, which will showcase nonprofit organizations in the county.

White has several more programs she will implement over the course of the year.


Be the first to post a comment!

Post a comment

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Comments express only the views of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of this website or any associated person or entity. Any user who believes a message is objectionable can contact us at ltmeditor@loudountimes.com.

More News

The Loudoun Times-Mirror

is an interactive, digital replica
of the printed newspaper.
Click here for all e-editions.