Welcome to LoudounTimes.com
Loudoun Times-Mirror

Dels. Minchew, Greason ousted in rough night for Republicans

Loudoun County Republicans were dealt a major blow Tuesday night, with their party's nominee for governor falling short and three GOP incumbents losing their local House of Delegates seats.

Democrat Ralph Northam won the gubernatorial race over Ed Gillespie, according to the Associated Press, and Democrats Wendy Gooditis and David Reid won the 10th and 32nd District races, respectively.

Gooditis, a Clarke County progressive, stunned three-term incumbent Randy Minchew, a prominent Loudoun County land use attorney in the Leesburg- and western Loudoun-based district.

The contest in the moderate 32nd District, which covers Lansdowne and parts of Ashburn, was expected to be close, but Reid won handily, claiming more than 57 percent of the vote with nearly 96 percent of precincts reporting.

Similarly, the 87th House of Delegates District covering Sterling, South Riding and parts of Prince William County was widely expected to be one of the tightest race in the states. Democrat John Bell won the 87th, claiming 62 percent to Subba Kolla's 38 with 93 percent of the precincts reporting.

In the 67th District, which falls mostly in Fairfax County and straddles Loudoun, incumbent GOP Del. Jim LeMunyon was ousted by Democrat Karrie Delaney. With 71 percent of the precincts reporting, Delaney held 59 percent of the vote to LeMunyon's 41 percent.

Republican Loudoun County Supervisor Ron Meyer summed it up on Twitter: "I have so many thoughts, but I better not. Northern VA is a new political frontier."


Be the first to post a comment!

Post a comment

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Comments express only the views of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of this website or any associated person or entity. Any user who believes a message is objectionable can contact us at ltmeditor@loudountimes.com.

More News

The Loudoun Times-Mirror

is an interactive, digital replica
of the printed newspaper.
Click here for all e-editions.