Login | Register
Staff Directory | Subscribe | About Us
Loudoun Times
Business Government Politics Region Crime/Public Safety Education People E-edition Ashburn Hamilton Hillsboro Lansdowne Leesburg Lovettsville Middleburg Purcellville River Creek Round Hill Sterling
Basketball Football Youth Wrestling Gymnastics Swimming Volleyball Baseball Track Golf Cheer Cross Country Schedule Scores
Brambleton Community of Faith Hangin in the Nosebleeds Journal Entry Loudoun Essence Made in Loudoun Odd Angles River Creek & Lansdowne South Riding Sterling, Cascades & CountrySide
Browse All Galleries
  • Announcements
  • Autos
  • Jobs
  • Legals
  • Homes
  • YardSales
  • Submit an Ad
  • Newspaper Advertising Online Advertising
    Classified listings Homes section

    Loudoun County to hold inaugural Hall of Fame ceremony Sept. 5

    Loudoun County High School invites the public to attend the inaugural LCHS Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony at 5 p.m. Sept. 5 in the school's auditorium.

    The induction ceremony will be followed by the inaugural Hall of Fame game at 7 p.m. as the Raider varsity football team hosts Freedom.

    Admission is free to the ceremony and is $6 for the game. Here is a look at the 2014 Hall of Fame class:


    -Joe Breinig, Sr (coach and administrator) Served as LCHS athletic director from 1976-2004; 40 years overall service to LCPS.

    -Frank “Sonny” Pearson (athlete, coach and administrator) LCHS Class of 1965; lettered in 3 sports; coached football, track, baseball, tennis and volleyball in LCPS.

    -Willie Washington (coach) Varsity boys basketball, varsity girls basketball, track; first African-American head coach at LCHS.

    -Jenica Brown (volleyball coach) Six-time VHSL state champions (2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013) most in VHSL volleyball history; Eight consecutive region titles; two-time All-Met Coach of the Year.


    -Daniel “Danny” Furr (Class of 1967) Earned 10 varsity letters in four varsity sports (football, basketball, baseball and track).

    -Ricky Donaldson (Class of 1968) Lettered in basketball and baseball; twice drafted by Major League Baseball (out of high school and college).

    -Sylvester Robinson (Class of 1973) Three-time state champion in track (Long jump, 220 dash and 330 dash).

    -Dulaney Washington (Class of 1975) Three-time state champion in track (100, 220, 440 dash); All-District first team football; 1,000-yard rusher.

    -Julie Skinner (Class of 1982) Lettered in softball and basketball; three-time All-District in softball; two-time All-District in basketball; played basketball at Campbell University (still holds seven individual records).

    -Jim Marshall (Class of 1986) Earned eight letters in track and football; All-State OL/DL as senior; All-State in shot put and discus; football and track letterman at Northeastern University.

    -Angela Dolby (Class of 1988) Earned 10 letters at LCHS (basketball, track and softball); All-State in track and basketball; fifth in shot put all-time at Clemson University.

    -Jill Pearson (Class of 1998) Earned 12 varsity letters (basketball, volleyball and softball); four-year starter in all three sports; currently head volleyball coach at Robinson H.S.

    -Tara Kidwell (Class of 2001) Earned eight letters in basketball and girls soccer; scored school-record 71 goals in soccer; four-year starter at University of Alabama-Birmningham.

    -Blakeley Griffith (Class of 2003) Girls tennis; three-time state singles champion; member of 2003 state championship team; four-year letter winner at University of Tennessee.

    Top / Western Loudoun / Leesburg /

    Be the first to post a comment!

    Get Email Updates


    Follow Us
    on Twitter

    News | Sports

    Like Us
    on Facebook

    News & Sports

    Join Our
    Email List

    Sign up for
    weekly updates
    The Loudoun Times-Mirror

    is an interactive, digital replica
    of the printed newspaper.
    Open the e-edition now.

    May 2015 Leesburg Downtown

    Loudouner - Spring 2015

    Loudoun Business Journal - Spring 2015

    Readers Choice Winter 2014