Welcome to LoudounTimes.com
Loudoun Times-Mirror

Loudoun Education Foundation Golf Tournament raises $110K

The Loudoun Education Foundation (LEF) Golf Classic raised a record $110,000 Monday.

For the second straight year, the event was held at Creighton Farms, but this year LEF had golf pros playing on teams for the first time. In a little more than a decade, the LEF Golf Classic has become the most successful charity golf event in Loudoun County, LCPS officials said.

Former LEF President Wade Tetsuka said many of the event’s participants support the school division through construction and other support services.

“Your hard work and dedication in everything you do each and every day for Loudoun County Public Schools is what makes our district one of the best in America. From the entire community of Loudoun County, thank you very much,” he said in a prepared statement.

LEF's mission is to support LCPS students and teachers, Executive Director Dawn Meyer said. The foundation does this through teacher grants, scholarships, suicide prevention programs, feeding food-insecure students and families and sponsoring the Regional Science and Engineering Fair and Senior Art Show. Money raised at the golf classic will go toward funding these programs.

“We couldn’t do it without participation in this event,” Meyer said in a prepared statement.

LCPS Superintendent Dr. Eric Williams said the grants are important – not just for supporting the teachers and students – but also in terms of driving innovation. Williams mentioned one of the most successful grants of the past year was one that allowed a group of students at Farmwell Station Middle School to place a state historical marker at the former Ashburn Colored School.

“That’s an example of how this foundation drives innovation by supporting the creation of these ‘bright spots,’” Williams said in a prepared statement.

School Board Chairman Jeff Morse, an LEF trustee, conducted an auction at the dinner that followed the day’s play. A total 109 golfers took part in the event.

The winning team in the best-ball tour was the Unanet team of Sue Boyer, Steve Britner, Conor Cafferty and Spencer Burcack with a 20-under-par 52. In second place, with a score of 54, was the Belfort Furniture team of Mike Huber, Chris Doran, Chris Patton and David Leudemann. The team of Stu Feddersen, Vince Scheivert, Mark Tashiro and Ji Soo Park placed third, also at 54
Barry Beneski won the closest-to-the-hole competition for men. Kathleen Koehler was the women’s winner.

Dustin Moser of Westfields Golf Club won the pro section of the event with a 68. Yong Joo of Top Golf Loudoun finished second at 69.

Chuck Osborne won the men’s longest-drive award. Boyer was the women’s winner.

The winner of the Most Honest Team Award (for finishing in last place) was Catalyst Funds. Team members included Angele Ryan, Rick Gurz, Matt Short and Chris Broussard.

Sponsors for the event included Moseley Architects ($12,000); Stantec ($10,000); Urban ($10,000); Holder Construction ($8,500); Cigna ($7,500); Architecture Inc. ($5,000); Hess Construction ($5,000); DES ($3,500); Sonny Merryman ($3,500); Unanet ($3,500); Blackboard ($1,500); J2 Engineers ($1,500); LPL Financial ($1,500); MTFA ($1,500); Ascent Engineering, Bowman Consulting, Bow Tie Strategies, Branch Associates, Hord Coplon Macht, Hughes Group, Orbital ATK, Pearson Digital Learning, Robinson Farmer Cox, Scheibel Construction, Telos ($500 each); and Loudoun Credit Union ($250).


Why were these funds used to place a state marker at the Ashburn Colored School?  I’m not opposed to the marker being placed, but if it was a state marker why wouldn’t the state pay for that?

Post a comment

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Comments express only the views of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of this website or any associated person or entity. Any user who believes a message is objectionable can contact us at ltmeditor@loudountimes.com.

More News

The Loudoun Times-Mirror

is an interactive, digital replica
of the printed newspaper.
Click here for all e-editions.