Welcome to LoudounTimes.com
Loudoun Times-Mirror

Supervisors tap Delgaudio for transportation committee

Within 10 minutes of its first meeting of 2014, the Board of Supervisors on Thursday appointed Eugene Delgaudio (R-Sterling) to the Transportation and Land Use Committee.

Delgaudio was stripped of any committee power in July 2013 following a grand jury investigation into whether he misused public assets. The grand jury did not bring forward an indictment, but issued a scathing report of Delgaudio's behavior in office.

In addition to the ban on committee assignments, Delgaudio was censured by his colleagues on the all-Republican board, and the Sterling district office funds were transferred to a corporate board account.

There were no time constraints connected to Delgaudio's committee prohibition, allowing him to serve in 2014.

The grand jury report highlighted testimony of a harsh working environment in Delgaudio's office, a lack of focus on constituent services and a likely, but not blatant, misuse of county resources.

Witnesses before the jury testified that Delgaudio directed his legislative aides “not to answer the phones or address constituent concerns and instead focus on other priorities.” The witnesses also reported incidents in the office involving “acts of verbal abuse that on multiple occasions brought his aides to tears” and led to their departures.

The board has historically voted on its vice chair and the makeup of its several committees during the first meeting of a new year.

Supervisor Shawn Williams (R-Broad Run) will remain the vice chairman, his colleagues determined Thursday.

Delgaudio will take the place of Supervisor Ken Reid (R-Leesburg) on the Transportation and Land Use Committee, which is chaired by Suzanne Volpe (R-Algonkian). Rounding out the committee is Janet Clarke (R-Blue Ridge), Geary Higgins (R-Catoctin) and Chairman Scott York (R-At Large).

The board's remaining committee assignments did not change. They are as follows:

-Joint Board of Supervisors and School Board Committee: Ralph Buona (R-Ashburn), co-chairman; Reid; and Higgins

-Finance, Government Services and Operations Committee: Buona, chairman; Reid; York; Williams; and Matt Letourneau (R-Dulles)

-Economic Development Committee: Letourneau, chairman; Buona; York; Williams; and Clarke

This story has been updated from an earlier version.

Contact the writer at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).


I agree westLOUDOUNer.  Further, Eugene doesn’t think he did anything wrong and was the victim here.  The guy is beyond help or any sense of reality.  For that reason, I am disappointed in the BOS move to allow him a committee vote.  No contrition from Eugene and his thieving ways.

Actually, its almost election time, and the other 9-0 republican board of supervisor members are clearly afraid of going into an election year a year from now, with the D. Man not liking them, or the Republican Committee of Loudoun County (the D. Man’s best buds).  Oh, what to do?  Give the D. Man back his appointments, and pretend that nothing ever happened.  What fun!

Not to worry, I have complete faith in Eugene to screw up again in 2014.  He’s not good on lessons learned - you know the Old Dog - New Tricks saying.

It appears the committee prohibition was strictly for 2013.

Was the editorial comment really necessary? Another year, another Delgaudio story dredging up the past. Bring on the onslaught on comments!Unleash the Weintraubs and Millers!

Post a comment

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.

Comments express only the views of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of this website or any associated person or entity. Any user who believes a message is objectionable can contact us at ltmeditor@loudountimes.com.

More News

The Loudoun Times-Mirror

is an interactive, digital replica
of the printed newspaper.
Click here for all e-editions.