Welcome to LoudounTimes.com
Loudoun Times-Mirror
Leesburg Today Archives

It’s Randall, Saines In Upsets

© Leesburg Today - 11/03/2015

Democrats Phyllis J. Randall and Koran T. Saines made Loudoun County history Tuesday night-in two ways.

First, they were two of three hopefuls in their party to win election, taking seats on the Board of Supervisors that had been held by the GOP, according to unofficial results.

Second, they will be the first people of color ever to serve as supervisors.

Randall bested three other candidates to take the position of county chairman, collecting 24,613 votes.

Four-term incumbent Scott K. York, last re-elected in 2011 as a Republican but running this year as an independent, came in second with 19,891 votes. GOP nominee Charlie L. King was third with 18,918 votes, and independent Thomas E. Bellanca got 1,973 votes.

Randall said she was ""humbled, overwhelmed and grateful.""

""I'm the first woman of color to chair a board in Virginia's history,"" she said at O'Faolain's in Sterling, where local Democrats had gathered for a victory party. ""That is humbling because I know that so many people came before me that allowed this to happen. This didn't happen because of me. I feel such an awesome responsibility to do a good job.""

Randall said her first concentration as chairman will be on the issue of ethics.

""I talked about needing an ethics pledge,"" she said. ""It's not OK to have a sitting board not under a code of ethical standards. It will be the first motion I will put forward. I will also focus on education. I have plans for full-day kindergarten, and I'm very excited about that and rewriting the county's comprehensive plan.""

Reached after the results were in, King said he already had called Randall to congratulate her.

""I'm sure she'll do a great job and make us all proud,"" he said.

However, the Republican, who tangled mostly with the incumbent during the campaign, said York was ""done in by his own arrogance."" He frequently has criticized York in this way, while York made his case largely on the fact that he was the candidate with experience in the job.

It would seem that King and York may have split the GOP vote, but it was hard to say that for sure Tuesday night.

Said King: ""I was the Republican in the race, and there was a spoiler.""

York couldn't be reached for comment Tuesday night, but he later posted a statement on Facebook, congratulating Randall and other election winners.

""It's never easy to lose,"" he wrote, ""but I have had the greatest pleasure of serving this wonderful county for 24 years, and now I look forward to the next adventure.""

Saines, meanwhile, upset another four-term incumbent, Republican Eugene A. Delgaudio, in the Sterling District.

He garnered 3,251 votes to Delgaudio's 3,037.

The Democrat said the first person he called to say he won was his 9-year-old son, Gabriel.

""It feels good,"" he said of his victory. ""It felt good all day long today.""

Saines' path to elected office wasn't smooth. He outlasted two other candidates in a firehouse primary to get the Democratic nomination, and Delgaudio and other Republicans took shots at his past convictions for drunken driving.

Delgaudio couldn't be reached for comment Tuesday night.

This election ended up being quite the turnabout for Delgaudio and York. In 2011, they were the only incumbent members to win re-election amid the first-ever Republican sweep of the county board.

Other supervisor races seemed to stick to the expected script.


For example, in the Catoctin District, incumbent Republican Geary M. Higgins bested Democrat Craig M. Green, a Hamilton town councilman, 6,298 votes to 3,463.

""I am honored and humbled the voters of the Catoctin District have returned me to a second term with 62 percent of the vote,"" Higgins said in a prepared statement. ""I am excited to be able to continue working on issues and projects important to the residents in my district.""


In the Leesburg District, Democrat Kristen C. Umstattd, the county seat's longtime mayor, bested Republican William A. ""Will"" Estrada, with a vote of 4,423 to 3,149. She was the odds-on favorite to win this position, which was open because incumbent Kenneth D. Reid, a Republican, didn't seek re-election.


Incumbent Republican Suzanne M. Volpe was re-elected in the Algonkian District, defeating Democrat Andrew D. Resnick by a vote of 4,119 to 3,765.


In the Dulles District, Republican Matthew F. Letourneau handily won a second term, 6,238 to 2,482, over Democrat Anjan S. Chimaladinne.

It seemed for a while this year that Letourneau wouldn't face opposition. But though Chimaladinne got in the race late, he waged a campaign that was intensely critical of the incumbent.

Blue Ridge

The Blue Ridge District seat was open this year after incumbent Republican Janet S. Clarke decided not to seek a second term.

Republican Tony R. Buffington Jr. will take Clarke's place as he defeated independent Richard A. Jimmerson Jr., 5,820 to 4,532.

Broad Run

The Board of Supervisors that will be seated in January will also include a new face in the Broad Run District.

Incumbent Shawn M. Williams resigned from the post in September after an arrest on simple assault and unlawful entry charges, and businessman James G. Bonfils was appointed to fill Williams' unexpired term until the end of this year.

Bonfils' successor will be Republican Ron A. Meyer Jr. He defeated Democrat Al R. Nevarez by a count of 4,676 votes to 3,035.


Incumbent Supervisor Ralph M. Buona, a Republican, outlasted a challenge from Democrat Mike R. Turner in this central Loudoun district. The board's vice chairman collected 4,180 votes to Turner's 3,847.

Back to the Leesburg Today archives

The Loudoun Times-Mirror

is an interactive, digital replica
of the printed newspaper.
Click here for all e-editions.