Welcome to LoudounTimes.com
Loudoun Times-Mirror

Broad Run wrestles to Battle of Ashburn title for second straight year

photoThe Broad Run Spartans won the Battle of Ashburn wrestling tournament for a second consecutive year Dec. 20 at Stone Bridge High School.—Times-Mirror Staff Photo/Alanna Dvorak

The Broad Run High School wrestling team showed they are still the top dogs in Ashburn, sweeping Stone Bridge and Briar Woods Dec. 20 to win the “Battle of Ashburn” for the second consecutive year.

“We’re in kind of a rebuilding year and for us to be able to come back and defend the trophy is definitely a good feeling,” Broad Run coach JJ Totaro said. “It’s good to see some of these young guys step up and defend the tradition and replace some of the guys we had in the past.”

Broad Run jumped right into action, squaring off against Briar Woods in the first of three matches at Stone Bridge.

Briar Woods grabbed the lead first, with Mick Zahora earning a decision over Ben Paul in the 132-pound bout. But Tarkan Martin, a two-time state qualifier, set the tone for the Spartans, earning a major decision over the Falcons’ Jake Grover.

Wins from Briar Woods’ Ben Seely and Zach Durkin kept them in contention, but the Falcons forfeited four weight classes to give Broad Run 24 points. Logan Shain (170), Connor Bryant (182) and Tyler Corbo (106) each pinned their opponents to solidify an opening victory for the Spartans.

Though Briar Woods fell to Broad Run, Michael Hulcher, who is undefeated on the season thus far, earned his 100th victory in the 126-pound bout with a pin in just 55 seconds.

“It was a lot of work put in,” Hulcher said. “It feels good to get some kind of reward, get something to be known for.”

The second contest pitted Briar Woods and Stone Bridge. The Falcons won four weight classes via forfeit and Bryan Capozzolli, Tamim Murshidi, Durkin and Hulcher all secured pins. The Bulldogs were led by Connor Legan and Josh Toal, who both pinned their opponents.

Broad Run dominated Stone Bridge in the third matchup of the evening, losing just four matches (one by forfeit) and winning via pinfall six times, including one from Rogelio Vasquez, bumped from junior varsity to varsity for the event.

“He’s stepping up and filling a position for us,” Totaro said. “He’s done a really great job and he’s finally getting a chance to prove himself.”

While Totaro anticipated a rebuilding season, he’s been pleased at his team’s performance thus far and hopes to see it continue.

“As we look at it, we have a shot at maybe taking a run at a team like Battlefield, or having a shot at the district again,” Totaro said. “We’d love to win the Cedar Run District title, take a few kids to states. It’d be a huge step.”

Broad Run 46, Briar Woods 25

106: Tyler Corbo (BR) pinned Majed Abdo (BW) 5:40
113: Broad Run win by forfeit
120: Tamim Murshidi (BW) dec. Paolo Cordello (BR) 7-0
126: Michael Hulcher (BW) pinned Rogelio Vasquez (BR) :55
132: Mick Zahora (BW) dec. Ben Paul (BR) 11-5
138: Tarkan Marin (BR) maj. dec. Jake Grover (BW) 14-3
145: Chris Lamboy (BR) win by forfeit
152: Ben Seely maj. dec. Burak Ocak (BR) 13-2
160: Zach Durkin pinned Clayton Shepherd (BW) 3:02
170: Logan Shain (BR) pinned Todd Craig (BW) 1:41
182: Connor Bryant (BR) pinned David Dillon (BW) :43
195: Bryan Capozzolli (BW) dec. Diego Sanchez (BR) 8-4
220: Phillip James win by forfeit
285: Ewen Riordan win by forfeit

Briar Woods 48, Stone Bridge 28

106: McKinnon Bowen (SB) maj. dec. Majed Abdo (BW) 13-4
113: Paul Schierling (SB) win by forfeit
120: Tamim Murshidi (BW) pinned David Deleon (SB) :22
126: David Tan (BW) dec. Gavin Aboulhosn (SB) 5-3
132: Michael Hulcher (BW) pinned Brandon Vincent (SB) 1:02
138: Mick Zahora (BW) dec. Richard Sheller (SB) 17-11
145: Jack Grover (BW) win by forfeit
152: Josh Toal (SB) pinned Ben Seely (BW) 2:35
160: Zach Durkin (BW) pinned Steven Deleon (SB) 4:49
170: Connor Legan (SB) pinned Todd Craig (BW) 1:48
182: David DIllon (BW) win by forfeit
195: Daniel Green (BW) win by forfeit
220: Bryan Capozzolli (BW) pinned Cole Carter (SB) :38
285: Aaron Crawford (SB) win by forfeit

Broad Run 60, Stone Bridge 22

106: McKinnon Bowen (SB) pinned Timmy Brown (BR) 5:54
113: Paul Schierling (SB) maj. dec. Tyler Corbo (BR) 12-3
120: Paolo Cordella (BR) pinned David Deleon (SB) 3:59
126: Huga Ballon (BR) pinned Gavin Aboulhosn (SB) 2:54
132: Rogelio Vasquez (BR) pinned Brandon Vincent (SB) 1:21
138: Richard Sheller (SB) win by forfeit
145: Chris Lamboy (BR) win by forfeit
152: Josh Toal (SB) pinned Burak Ocak (BR) 2:52
160: Derrik Macbeth (BR) pinned Steven Deleon (SB) :58
170: Logan Shain (BR) injury forfeit Connor Legan (SB)
182: Connor Bryant (BR) win by forfeit
195: Diego Sanchez (BR) win by forfeit
220: Phillip James (BR) pinned Cole Carter (SB)
285: Ewen Riordan (BR) pinned Aaron Crawford (SB) 3:34


Be the first to post a comment!

The Loudoun Times-Mirror

is an interactive, digital replica
of the printed newspaper.
Click here for all e-editions.

Get sports news via email.