Welcome to LoudounTimes.com
Loudoun Times-Mirror

Briar Woods completes three-peat in dominant fashion

photoBriar Woods junior Chris Larco scores on a 12-yard run early in the third quarter of the Virginia Division 4 state football championship game. Briar Woods shut out Heritage-Lynchburg, 52-0, to three-peat as state champions Dec. 8 in Lynchburg.—Times-Mirror Photo/Chuck Moore

The Briar Woods Falcons capped an amazing three-year run with a nearly perfect performance in the Virginia Division 4 state football championship Dec. 8 against Heritage-Lynchburg at Liberty University in Lynchburg.

Fueled by a desire to complete its first perfect season, Briar Woods dominated from start to finish on its way to a 52-0 win, the largest margin of victory ever posted in a Group AA state title game.

“It’s special to go undefeated. That was our biggest goal, we had never been able to accomplish that,” Briar Woods tight end/linebacker Cam Serigne said. “This group of guys ... it’s just special. It’s a family here. I could not ask for a better send off in my senior year.”

The Falcons (15-0) became the first Loudoun school to win three consecutive state football titles. Briar Woods, now 42-3 over the last three seasons, extended the streak of a Loudoun team winning a state football title to six straight years.

“Each year, that target on your back gets bigger and this year, it was bigger than ever,” Falcon junior quarterback/defensive back Trace McSorley said. “To be able to go undefeated this year and do what we did is a dream come true.”

Briar Woods scored in all three facets of the game against Region III champion Heritage (12-2). The Falcons outgained the Pioneers, 452-94, and held a 20-3 advantage in first downs.

“We came out here today focused on having a dominant mentality,” said Serigne, verbally committed to Wake Forest. “Our defense is what we’ve prided ourselves on for years.”

McSorley excelled as a dual threat once again. McSorley rushed for 75 yards and two touchdowns and also connected with Serigne on a 27-yard scoring pass late in the first half. McSorley completed nine of 12 passes for 86 yards with Serigne hauling in five of those completions for 53 yards. 

The connection was par for the course for McSorley and Serigne, who started playing sports together in the third grade. The duo won a championship in the Ashburn Youth Football League prior to their varsity run of three consecutive titles.

“We’ve just always had great chemistry and it just kept getting better and better each year,” McSorley said. Serigne agreed with his good friend, adding “It’s definitely not going to be the same with another quarterback.”

Cory Colder delivered another workhorse effort in the win. The senior tailback produced his fourth consecutive 100-plus yard rushing game in the state playoffs, going for 158 yards and a touchdown on 23 carries. Junior Chris Larco added a 12-yard touchdown run early in the second half.

JT Logan - described by coach Charlie Pierce as an “unsung hero” - supplied several big plays. Logan pressured Heritage quarterback JeVontae Parrish, leading to a safety in the first quarter; he delivered a key block during junior Tristan Miller’s 63-yard punt return for a score in the second quarter; and he broke loose for a 73-yard touchdown run in the fourth quarter.

“I’ve been playing football for 10 years. To have it end like this is unreal, just an amazing feeling,” said Logan, one of several seniors to play on all three championship teams.

Logan and senior Mike Barta led the Falcons with five tackles each. Senior Trei Germany and Serigne both recorded four stops.

The championship victory not only concluded the prep career for 13 Falcon seniors, it also closed out Briar Woods’ run at the Division 4 level. With a growing student population, the Falcons will move up to Division 5 next school year.

“Nobody can take away from these seniors and this team and what their accomplishments have been,” Pierce said of his team’s legacy. “Our guys worked hard and they are very deserving. I could not be more proud of them.”

Briar Woods 52, Heritage-Lynchburg 0

-First Quarter
BW: Logan safety (penalty in end zone) 5:16
BW: McSorley 1 run (LaFrankie kick) 0:51

-Second Quarter
BW: Miller 63 punt return (Colder run) 2:54
BW: Serigne 27 pass from McSorley (LaFrankie kick) 0:16

-Third Quarter
BW: Larco 12 run (LaFrankie kick) 9:54
BW: McSorley 25 run (LaFrankie kick) 5:24

-Fourth Quarter
BW: Colder 4 run (LaFrankie kick) 10:36
BW: Logan 73 run (LaFrankie kick) 6:33

Team stats

-First Downs: BW 20; H 3

-Rushing yards: BW 366; H 45

-Passing yards: BW 86; H 49

-Time of possession: BW 29:52; H 18:08

BW stat leaders

-Rushing: Colder (23 for 158 yards, TD), McSorley (10 for 75 yards, 2 TD), Logan (2 for 74 yards, TD), Larco (3 for 28 yards, TD)

-Passing: McSorley (9 of 12 for 86 yards, TD)

-Receiving: Serigne (5 for 53 yards, TD), Ramos (2 for 15 yards), Polk (1 for 14 yards)

-Tackles: Barta (5), Logan (5), Germany (4), Serigne (4)

-Tackles for a loss: Logan (1.5), Barta (1), Birmingham (1), Jacob (1), Merletti (1), Germany (0.5)

Briar Woods Falcons - 2012 state champions

Mike Barta
Cory Colder
Ronald Cuffee Jr.
Seth Firestone
Darryll Gadsden
Trei Germany
Josh Jacob
JT Logan
Brian McKelvey
Devin Ramos
Matt Rolin
Jonathan Rosa
Cam Serigne

Ty Abbas
Joe Abuelhawa
Neil Barron
Christian Campbell
Mac Canan
Jared Coker
Chris Derrickson
Tushar Dhindsa
TJ Enoch
Hunter Ford
Robert Garcia
BJ Hinson
Melvin Holland Jr.
Mitch Krisfalusi
Nick LaFrankie
Chris Larco
Sean Little
Trace McSorley
Jack Mercil
Nick Merletti
Joe Miller
Tristan Miller
Brandon Preznuk
Chase Stanga
Erik Thysse
Matt Wolcott

Jeremy Bailey
Brandon Barskdale
Dillon Blevins
Conner Bottcher
Dylan Bowie
Riley Canan
Bryan Capozzoli
Anthony Carino
Tristan Carter
Josh Colangelo
Sam Devonshire
John Hirsch
John Karl
Jack Knight
Jake Maffe
Anthony Martinez
Chris McMillian
Brandon Polk
Darrell Ramey
Brady Scott

Mark Birmingham
Jordan Hinson
Takiyul Johnson
Christopher Motley
Anthony Page
Brandon Romero
Ryan Rutkowski
Jake Serigne

Head Coach
Charlie Pierce

Assistant Coaches
Joey Babick
Matt Brown
Jamie Caldwell
Sean Daza
Jared Develli
Mike Groves
Travis Huff
Tom Slack

Jeff Bailey

Sarah Davidson
Madison Duryea
Micaela Otai
Paige Pierce
Camila Restrepo
Caty Reyes
Tori Smith

George Khalsa
Satnam Khalsa

-All photos by Chuck Moore


Congrats. Another great season.

The Loudoun Times-Mirror

is an interactive, digital replica
of the printed newspaper.
Click here for all e-editions.

Get sports news via email.