Jeff Morse (Dulles)

Jeff Morse (Dulles)

The Loudoun County School Board on Tuesday selected Jeff Morse (Dulles) and Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge) to serve as chair and vice chair of the board, respectively, during an organizational meeting.

Morse was voted chair of the school board for the 2022 calendar year with five votes in favor and four abstentions from outgoing Chair Brenda Sheridan (Sterling), outgoing Vice Chair Atoosa Reaser (Algonkian), Harris Mahedavi (Ashburn) and Serotkin (Blue Ridge).

“I do want to thank my fellow board members who expressed support in my election as chair,” Morse said. “It’s a position I don’t take lightly.”

“I look forward to working with our educators, our staff, our superintendent and families,” he said.

Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge)

School board member Ian Serotkin (Blue Ridge,) shown here at a public meeting in August, was appointed vice chair of the Loudoun County School Board Tuesday, Jan. 4, 2022.

Serotkin, meanwhile, was named vice chair with seven votes in favor, and one abstention from Mahedavi, as well as a single no vote from Denise Corbo (At-Large).

Morse previously served as school board chair in 2017, 2018 and 2019, according to an LCPS spokesperson.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for reading!

Please purchase a subscription to read our premium content. If you have a subscription, please log in or sign up for an account on our website to continue.